Kyoto is off the table

After talking to my sister over the weekend, the first really long conversation about the trip, I’m feeling more that Kyoto is off the table for me.  As much as I want to see the city, it just isn’t very feasible this time around.

After talking with her, the amount of tours that we want to do will probably eat up all of the time we have in Japan and will make it impossible to get to Kyoto.  I could go by myself, but the overall budget of the trip has to stay reasonable for me and I think a full week in Tokyo and a side trip to Mt. Fuji area (one of the tours we are looking at) will be exciting enough.

I’ve been weighing going to Kyoto by myself or not, but I think the week in Tokyo will be more than enough for me and will keep my bank account in one piece.  While I want to see the historic city of Kyoto, it just won’t work this time around.  Perhaps I will make another trip to Japan at a later time, but instead will fly to Osaka and take in that part of the country.  For now, back to the planning stages of the Tokyo trip.

2 thoughts on “Kyoto is off the table

  1. One decision down! That’s the trouble with travel – you have to draw the line somewhere. If you spent your whole life travelling full-time you’d never run out of stuff you want to see and do “since you’re heading over this way”. It’s the beauty of travel, too, I guess.

  2. Yeah, I’ve wanted to go to Kyoto from the start, but looking at the short trip schedule and the overall budget, trying to get it in would be miserable. We are going to be doing a lot of stuff while we are there, so the schedule is booked and trying to stretch out to this point would make it a pain more than it should be. I guess I’ll just have to return to Japan after the first trip and do Osaka, Kyoto and that half of the country.

Leave a Reply

