Hiroshi Yamauchi passes away at age 85

News came out yesterday that former Nintendo president Hiroshi Yamauchi  had passed away at the age of 85 at a hospital in Central Japan.  Yamauchi took the Nintendo company back in 1949, from a very simple card-game company to one of the largest video game and electronic companies in the world.

As a kid I grew up in a Nintendo world.  The first console I remember playing was the NES and Super Mario Brothers 3.  I would waste tons of hours on that game, trying to get to World 8 and avoiding World 4, the sky world (yes, my memory still works partially).  Then there was the N 64 and some of the greatest games like Legend of Zelda, Ocarina of Time, Star Fox 64, Mario Cart, and the list goes on.  Then there was the Game Boy and the Pokemon franchise that wasted hours of my young life as well.  Nothing could be having Charizard on your team back in the day!

RIP to Mr. Hiroshi Yamauchi.  He elevated a franchise that became a major part of my childhood growing up and still can occupy some of my time these days.  I still have that NES, it still works and I still have the legendary Duck Hunt.

Leave a Reply

