Mind over Matt-er Daily Blog 28: I need to learn Japanese

As I plan for this trip to Japan, I need to learn some Japanese! I speak a little (mostly numbers and a few expressions) but I need to learn a lot more if I’m going to truly enjoy the trip next year. However, I don’t want to spend a few hundred dollars on something like Rosetta Stone, so I’m reaching out to the internet to see what people can recommend out there. 

As I said before, I don’t want to spend a ton of money on learning software like Rosetta Stone to learn the language, I think its just a little too expensive. Instead, I am sure there are some internet (free) options out there along with books and guides that people have used or have come across over the years that have helped them learn the language. I know there language and writing system is truly incredible with thousands of characters in kanji that even most Japanese can’t remember them all. I just want to have a working knowledge of the language, enough to ask questions, get answers and get the information I need without looking too much like a tourist. I can’t walk around Japan the entire time yelling “Bankai!” like in the Bleach series, they may find that weird.

So I’m reaching out to the internet to see what people can recommend. Any websites, Youtube, or books out there that are great teaching guides for Japanese? I’d love to hear what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

