Top 7 Old Cartoons: Number 7

I want to have some fun on the blog so I decided I would start compiling some lists of top shows, music, etc. and breaking each one down and ranking them from seven to one, one being my all time favorite. I’m going to start with old cartoons, things I grew up with during my generation. Old shows like Looney Tunes, Scooby Doo, etc. were staples of my childhood and I figured running down a list would be entertaining and bring up some old memories. Let’s start with number seven, a fairly recent cartoon. 

#7 – The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy

A very underrated show, The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy aired from 2003 to 2007 on Cartoon network, which would be right around my early high school days.

The show was all about slap-stick comedy and dumb jokes that revolved around two kids, Billy and Mandy, and their best friend, the Grim Reaper (yep). Billy was the moron of the group, Mandy was the stern leader, and Grim was their friend by force after a losing a bet to them. The show would follow their goofy day to day adventures and introduced a ton of random characters and scenarios each episode. I mean, seriously, they went to Valhalla in one episode for no reason.

Some cartoons during this era would follow a story line, would build off of old episodes, etc. but not this one. This show was all about the random humor and one liners. I have found it hard to find a lot of fans of this show and fewer that really remember it that well, simply because it didn’t last very long, but it was a classic to me during those middle teenage years where everything was hilarious to me.

So does anyone out there remember this show? Recall a classic episode?

Leave a Reply

