Ranking the Star Wars Movies: Number 1 and 2

Image result for rogue one

Here we go, the top two movies in the franchise series and to me, they are tied! Yep, after watching the Rogue One twice and watching the Empire Strikes back over the years (and recently), to me, they are the top two films of the series but I can’t pick one over another. 

Image result for the empire strikes back

These are the best movies in the series and that is where I stand. Return of the Jedi and Force Awakens are epic, but these films really get into the true heart of Star Wars and the battle of good vs. evil.

Let’s start with Rogue One. Its the only movie in the franchise where Jedi or light sabers are not used. Instead, its a gritty rebel group on a suicide mission to save the galaxy and stop the empire by getting those Death Star plans. We get the true depression of these guys, their battle, and see what tactics they will use in order to achieve their goal. It’s real, its human struggle, and its facing the odds that they know they likely won’t win against. I loved the movie even as sad/hopeful the ending was.

Now let’s move to the Empire Strikes Back. As a kid, I didn’t really like this film because the good guys lost. Sounds stupid but as a kid, I hated Vader and wanted Luke to win everything so when Vader chopped his arm off, it was not high on my list (and Solo being frozen, can’t forget that). But now that I’m older, I can appreciate how great this movie is and how its turns the Rebels on the defensive because all their hope is gone, or at least it seems. Plus, the battle on Hoth is so much fun to watch. We really get to see how powerful the Empire is even after suffering a huge loss in the previous movie.

So these are the top two movies of the franchise to me and I can’t put one ahead of the other. Empire Strikes Back is the OG video of the series, but Rogue One is so well done, I can’t rank it lower because of its age. To me, they are the top two movies and you can argue for either one. To avoid that, I putting them on equal terms.

Hope you enjoyed this ranking series!

Leave a Reply

