Shibuya or Shinjuku?

Image result for shibuya tokyo

Alright, I’m calling out travel bloggers, travel fans, and anyone who has visited Japan, specifically Tokyo in the past. Which is the best spot to stay in for a first time visitor, Shibuya or Shinjuku?

I’m reading Trip Advisor and other helpful websites, but I wanted to reach out to people that have been there and can give me some information on these two areas because I am trying to find the best hotel for my needs.

I’m looking for information on the two areas because they appear to be the two big tourist spots that will have a night life, restaurants, and shopping that will be in my budget range as well as be centrally located in Japan to hit all the tourist sites.

I have had some great conversations in the past with people that have visited Japan before and I am grateful for that, but I wanted to reach out again and get some specific information on these areas. Any info will be greatly appreciated!

7 thoughts on “Shibuya or Shinjuku?

  1. We stayed very close to the main train station. This way our hotel was super close after we arrived there from the airport plus it was where the metros left. We loved the location.

  2. Thanks for replying! Which area did you stay close to, which station, and what hotel? I am eager to learn everything I can.

  3. They are both on the yamanote line so easy to get to. I’d say that Shibuya will be crowded most of the time so if you’re looking for a busy part of town choose it. In Tokyo I tend to choose Ikebukuro (lots of restaurants open in the evening) or Asakusa (one of my favorite parts of town,old,quiet in the evening).

  4. Thanks for the feedback! I’m going the typical tourist route on this one so want to find the best spot for someone that is not used to Japan and doesn’t have the best Japanese either (aka English signs and folks that speak English). Which hotels in Ikebukuro and Asakusa did you stay at?

  5. In Ikebukuro I looooove the Kimi ryokan but it’s small and rapidly booked In Asakusa I have tried many places : the capsule riverside and the Sakura hostel. Last autumn I tried one more that I really didn’t like and I found the Sakura youth hostel too noisy. In general I don’t like big impersonal hostels in Japan. There will be loads of signs in English in stations and all hostels now have print out maps so don’t worry 😉

  6. For me I think I’ll be staying in one of the bigger hotels, just not a huge fan of the hostels (just personal pick). Good to know there are plenty of English maps and signs around to help guide the lost tourist.

  7. I don’t know if this is too late and maybe you’ve already been to Tokyo now?
    If not, I’d definitely cast my vote for Shinjuku. We’ve just come back from ten days in Tokyo and, much as I liked Shibuya, Shinjuku always felt more *alive*.
    Even though we were staying a couple of train stops away, we kept going back to Shinjuku and Harajuku/Omotesando because there was just so much more going on there.
    I put a few notes on my blog too, about getting around, English-speaking and some of the other things you mentioned: https://peverilblog.wordpress.com/2017/06/24/peverilblogs-notes-from-tokyo-part-4-old-new-on-speaking-english-and-wifi/

Leave a Reply

